What to Buy: Record Store Day 2016

Record Store Day is like Christmas for vinyl lovers. At least that’s what it feels like to me. Probably because it’s the one day I schlep on over to my favorite local record store (Stinkweeds, obviously) and buy a huge majority of albums I’ve been putting off buying (and a few used gems too).

I’ve put off buying vinyl recently for a couple reasons. The main one being my Crosley portable record player is on life support. It had a good 15 year run, but I think it’s finally giving upΒ  on me. I just haven’t had the heart to replace it. It’s been with me since I was a freshman in high school and started listening to my dad’s old album collection (his good turntable was lost many years ago). Another reason, is nothing compares to the 7 random (joke) vinyl albums my brother gives me for Christmas this year. Lawrence Welk, a true gem of this year’s pile.

With Record Store Day happening this Saturday (April 16th), I thought I would share my shopping list of sorts which includes some of the RSD exclusive releases. I’ve labeled those releases below. You can see the full list of releases here.

recordstoreday16

Shop selections: Crosley x Urban Outfitters Palm record player, Crosley C100 Turntable, Clueless soundtrack, Ryan Adams’ 1989, Leon Bridges’ Coming Home, Dr. Dre’s The Chronic, Father John Misty’s I Love You, Honeybear, Best Coast’s California Nights, Animal Collective’s Painting With

Leave a Reply

