So I Tried Chlorophyll Water…

A few months back I did a juice cleanse (Read more about that here) and it included waters to drink two times a day. One was chlorophyll water which I really knew nothing about. In reality, chlorophyll water is actually ridiculously trendy and is pretty much everywhere. So, months after initially trying it I decided to give it another shot for longer to see what happens.

Processed with VSCO with a2 preset

So what is chlorophyll? From biology we can recall that chlorophyll is the green pigment found within cyanobacteria and the chloroplasts of algae and other plants. It absorbs energy from light to aid in photosynthesis which allows plants to grow and thrive.

What are the health benefits to humans? The make up of chlorophyll is similar to the makeup of hemoglobin. Hemoglobin transports and builds red blood cells within our body. Chlorophyll can increase red blood cell count, increase oxygen consumption, and increase energy. It is filled with vitamins, antioxidants, and minerals which increase immunity, detoxify, and can even balance hormones.

How is it consumed? Chlorophyll can be bought as a liquid with a dropper, in pill or powder form. I chose the liquid dropper which has a minty spearmint flavor added to water in the morning or midday as an alternative pick me up to coffee.

Processed with VSCO with a2 preset

Does it work? I can admit it did give me more energy. I enjoyed it more in the afternoon as a pick me up alternative to coffee. It didn’t come with a caffeine crash later on. The first day I followed the bottle dropper instructions (15 drops) and it seemed excessive. It was and gave me a headache. So I altered the amount of drops in half and increased it from there. It’s really great for increasing energy without coffee or other stimulants, and its a really great way of tricking myself into drinking more water.

Processed with VSCO with a2 preset

Leave a Reply

