Styled: Denim Jacket

A few weeks back I was at the gym and on one of the televisions there was a local news segment called “How to Style Your Denim Jacket.” Of course, this was a kind of backhanded segment aimed at older (or middle-aged) women informing them they too could wear the trendy piece. I definitely don’t think morning show segments like this should exist it got me thinking.

When I was a kid I loved my denim jacket. Denim jackets were cool especially if they were Levi’s or from Planet Hollywood (I never owned one). But when I got older I just let them fade away from my wardrobe until a couple of years ago. I can see why this morning show segment was pushing them so hard because there is a notion they are so 80s/90s and should be left that way. In reality, they are actually versatile, chic, and a true classic.

Processed with VSCO with a2 preset

Denim jacket & dress: H&M

A good denim jacket is a wardrobe staple because there are so many ways to wear it. I grab it when I’m rushing out the door and need a jacket to keep warm at work. On rainy days I know it’s tough enough to withstand the elements. It adds just a little something extra to complete my outfit. There is only one thing I try to avoid: the Canadian Tuxedo. Yeah, I desperately try to avoid the Justin Timberlake at the American Music Awards in 2001. Don’t get me wrong denim on denim is acceptable now and I have been known to rock the occasional chambray shirt/blue jeans combo, but when I know I want to wear blue jeans I reach for a bomber jacket or blazer instead. Of course, other shades of denim (like grey or black) don’t apply to this.

Styled_Denim-Jacket_001

ASOS Military Dress, H&M jacket, Rag & Bone sneakers, Quay sunglasses, The Row bag

Styled-Denim-Jacket-2

Topshop jeans, Etienne Aigner bag, Noisy May jacket, Sub Urban Riot tank, Forever 21 rings, Express booties, Ray-Ban sunglasses

Styled_Denim-Jacket_3

Loeffler Randall boots, Victoria Beckham jeans, Who What Wear tie blouse, Phillip Lim satchel, Citizens of Humanity jacket

Styled_Denim-Jacket_4

Topshop playsuit, Kimchi Blue tote bag, Zara denim jacket, Gap sandals, Ray-Ban sunglasses, Gorjana necklace

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

