Birthday Playlist 2017

I’m not sure how this tradition began but many years ago I began making playlist for my birthday. They don’t contain music I’m currently listening to at whatever given age I may be turning (which actually sounds like a better idea). Instead they take a glimpse back into past years almost like a nostalgic road trip.

I try to choose a relevant year and look at the music most popular during that time, but this year I issued myself a little challenge. The formative years of life where we begin shaping who we are range somewhere between ages 8 to 18. We develop quite a bit before then, but this is the time we really try to explore who we are, what we like, and the world around us begins to dictate more influence on ourselves. Finding music that essentially defined me during that time turned out to be really difficult. There are so many sources and it changed so much over time no one but me could possible ever listen to a playlist like that.

So the playlist I ended up coming up with is filled with 90s music that I listened from like 3 to 13. I did this entirely from memory trying to recall what CDs and cassette tapes I once owned, what my parents listened to frequently, and what takes up significant space in my brain. That said because music comes from many places there is tons missing from this. I didn’t want to self-disclose too much so there are a lot of personal songs missing because it became way too long (2 hours is already getting a bit long and it used to be about 4). No one is that nostalgic for the 90s.

Thanks to my parents for their influence, years of cheerleading routines, 90s teen movies, and the obscene amount of time I spent watching MTV for helping shape my musical taste during these years. While it seems wildly inappropriate for a child to listen to any of these songs, I’m pretty sure they made me the sparkling ray of cynical sunshine I am today.

Tracklist & Links below

  1. Fantasy – Mariah Carey
  2. Hypnotize – The Notorious BIG
  3. Good Vibrations – Marky Mark & the Funky Bunch
  4. Kids in America – The Muffs
  5. The Impression That I Get – the Mighty Mighty Bosstones
  6. Just a Girl – No Doubt
  7. All Apologies – Nirvana
  8. Wonderwall – Oasis
  9. Spice Up Your Life – Spice Girls
  10. California Love – 2Pac
  11. Honey – Mariah Carey
  12. Rhythm Nation – Janet Jackson
  13. This Is How We Do It – Montell Jordan
  14. Semi-Charmed Life – Third Eye Blind
  15. Bittersweet Symphony – The Verve
  16. You Get What You Give – New Radicals
  17. Criminal – Fiona Apple
  18. Karma Police – Radiohead
  19. Doll Parts – Hole
  20. 1979 – Smashing Pumpkins
  21. Waterfalls – TLC
  22. Til I Hear It From You – Gin Blossoms
  23. Lovefool – The Cardigans
  24. We Got the Beat – The Go-Gos
  25. MMMBop – Hanson
  26. Tearin’ Up My Heart – *NSYNC
  27. You’ve Got It (The Right Stuff) – New Kids on the Block
  28. That Thing You Do! – The Wonders
  29. My Hero – Foo Fighters
  30. Dreams – the Cranberries
  31. Cruel to Be Kind – Letters to Cleo
  32. You Oughta Know – Alanis Morissette
  33. The Rockafeller Skank – Fatboy Slim
  34. All I Want – Toad the Wet Sprocket
  35. Hold On – Wilson Phillips

Listen on Spotify or Apple Music

Leave a Reply

